Planning your e-Commerce venture? Think Again!

idea

idea (Photo credit: Tony Dowler)

 

In recently concluded week, I spoke to people to who wanted to start an online store and jump into the e-Commerce bandwagon. My only reply to them was – “Dude! You are late for the party. The music has already stopped.” And then we get into the conversation which is more inclined towards making them understand that what an e-Commerce business is all about, and why people should not get into it until they have got a feel of what this business demands.

 

One of the most typical answers I get to hear from the e-Commerce aspirants is – ‘But my idea is unique, and I know no one else has done it so far’. I respect your idea, and I respect the fact that you are the first one to have thought about doing it but answer a few of the questions to yourself – #1. How long can you go with this ‘unique’ idea of yours? #2. Have you done any proof of concept for your idea?

 

My only reason behind asking this question is simple is that – Internet is a level-playing field, and this immediately means that your idea will become a public property open to replication the moment you are there. And any internet based business is not about the idea alone, instead it’s about execution and sustaining the same in the years to come. And on top of that, you will get these years only when someone is not aggressively copying your idea and making it better.

 

Keeping in mind the observation, so far, that E-Commerce has been the most ‘abused’ idea India has ever seen, I have complete faith in my understanding that – In your e-Commerce venture you can not sustain solely depending on your ‘unique’ idea beyond 2-3 weeks. You have to have strategy, patience, and money to execute your idea; and this is what will make your e-Commerce journey worth an attempt, rather than just having a brilliant ideas which would get replicated the very next day by some guy with deep pockets.

 

My only final words – E-Commerce is a game of patience. You will have to almost beg the customers to purchase things from your end. You will have to change your business ideas several times each year. You will have to burn your money many times (most of them have ALWAYS burnt money when they have sold anything from their portal). Your employees won’t be the happiest set of people, they will hate you and they will hate the reason why people have started buying over the internet. Think if you are ready for all this, if not, take your own time.

 

E-Commerce is here to stay, so there is no need to jump into the business in a hurry without giving it a proper thought and assessing your strengths and weaknesses. E-Commerce deserves your thoughts!

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Planning your e-Commerce venture? Think Again!

  1. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or tips. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  2. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

  3. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  4. Just desire to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your post is just spectacular and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  5. hello there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this web site, since I experienced to reload the site many times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again soon..

  6. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  7. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  8. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  9. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  10. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with valuable information to work on. You have done a formidable job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  11. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

